If you are discovered driving in Missouri without the appropriate insurance, you may face severe fines, depending on the circumstances. In addition to a $500 fine and/or 15 days in jail, you may lose your driving privileges for a year and be required to pay a $400 reinstatement fee. In addition, “no insurance” citations cannot be deleted from your Missouri driving record.
|Types of Penalties||First Offense||Second Offense||Third & Subsequent Offense|
|Fine||N/A||Not to exceed $500||Not to exceed $500|
|Driving Privilege||Driver’s license, registration and license plates suspended until adequate insurance is obtained||Driver’s license, registration and license plates suspended for 90 days||Driver’s license, registration and license plates suspended for one year|
|Reinstatement Requirements||$20 fee||$200 fee||$400 fee|
|Driving Record||4 points||4 points||4 points|
|Community Service and/or Imprisonment||N/A||Up to 15 days in jail||Up to 15 days in jail|
In Missouri, can you go to jail for driving without auto insurance?
Without insurance, the majority of drivers are unable to compensate for accident-related damages. In Missouri, driving without the minimum needed insurance can result in serious fines. You might receive four points on your license, a fine of up to $300, 15 days in prison, and a suspension of your license.
Consequences of driving without insurance – According to the Road Traffic Act of 1930, you must have at least third-party liability insurance when driving or parked on public highways. This is the most fundamental level of coverage, which only covers the expenses of repairs and reimbursement for the other driver if you were at fault.
Is Missouri a no pay no play state?
(RSMo section 303.390) The “No Pay, No Play” regulation prohibits uninsured motorists from claiming non-economic damages following a car collision. This covers uninsured vehicle owners, uninsured permissive vehicle drivers, and uninsured nonpermissive vehicle drivers.
- This implies that all uninsured motorists in Missouri cannot seek the following non-economic damages: Distress and suffering Destruction of regular lifeEmotional suffering Courts in Missouri are divided over whether this statute violates the constitutional right to a jury trial.
- To date, the Missouri Supreme Court has not ruled on the validity of the statute.
For drivers to decide if they have a valid claim for pain and suffering, they must consult with an attorney who is familiar with the subtleties of Missouri’s Financial Responsibility legislation.
Is Mo a no fault state?
How Does Comparative Fault Affect an Automobile Accident in Missouri? – Missouri, in addition to being an at-fault state for auto accidents, is a pure comparative fault state. Comparative blame or comparative negligence is a mechanism for dividing damages for an automobile accident in which two or more parties are accountable for the collision’s cause.
For instance, both drivers may be responsible for a head-on accident. The percentage of fault ascribed to each motorist is determined by a jury. The drivers are liable for damages according to their degree of responsibility. Assume that a jury gives you 30 percent of the blame for the vehicle accident you caused.
Your damage compensation would be decreased by thirty percent. If your total losses are $100,000, you would only receive $70,000 for your auto accident claim ($100,000 minus 30%).
Revocable or Suspended in Kansas – A first offense of driving without a license in Kansas entails a fine of at least $100 and up to $1,000 and prison term of at least five days and up to six months. The second violation is identical to the first, with the addition of 90 days to the license suspension.
This final sentence is true even if you have no license. The court will add the 90-day suspension to your driver’s record. Then, you must wait until after that date to obtain your first license. It is extremely difficult, if not impossible, to avoid a five-day sentence in Kansas courts. A first violation for driving without a license in Missouri carries a fine of up to $500 and up to one year in prison.
For consecutive infractions, the maximum penalty increase to $2,000 and then $10,000. Additionally, jail time increases, with a second crime carrying a sentence of six months to one year and subsequent offenses having sentences of up to four years. In Missouri, it is simpler to avoid jail time, particularly if your license has been reinstated (which I can help with).