It is a misdemeanor to violate the Mississippi Code for Motor Vehicle Safety and Responsibility. It only takes one infraction of the vehicle insurance legislation for a driver to face a $500 fine and a one-year suspension of driving privileges, or until proof of auto insurance is provided. The reinstatement of a driver’s license will also incur expenses.
|Type of Penalty||First Offense|
|Driving Privilege||License suspension for 1 year or until Proof of Insurance is provided|
|Penalties Reduced/Waived||If proof of future financial responsibility (SR-22) is submitted before the hearing, fine will be reduced to $100; If proof of current insurance policy is submitted before the hearing, fine, court costs, and suspension will be waived|
|Reinstatement Requirements||SR-22 to be maintained for 3 years; $25 reinstatement fee plus applicable fees related to renewing a license of varying validity length; and $10 for a suspension related to writing a bad check|
Is Mississippi a no fault auto insurance state?
Mississippi is a “Fault” Car Accident State – Mississippi employs a typical fault-based approach for assigning financial responsibility for damages resulting from a collision, including automobile accident injuries, lost income, vehicle damage, and so on.
- Therefore, the individual responsible for causing the automobile collision is also liable for any resultant damages (practically speaking, the at-fault driver’s insurance company will cover these losses, according to policy limits).
- In Mississippi, a person who suffers any type of injury or damage as a result of a vehicle accident often has three options: By filing a claim with his or her own insurance company, assuming the loss is covered under the policy (in this situation, the injured person’s insurance company will likely pursue a subrogation claim against the at-fault driver’s carrier), by filing a third-party claim directly with the at-fault driver’s insurance carrier, or by filing a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver in civil court.
In places with no-fault auto insurance, a claimant often does not have the same alternatives. After a vehicle collision in a no-fault state, you must rely on the personal injury protection coverage of your own auto insurance policy to pay for medical expenses and other out-of-pocket expenditures, regardless of who was at fault.
Can you obtain insurance in Mississippi without a license?
If you cannot offer a legitimate driver’s license number and do not possess a valid driver’s license, you will be unable to finish a policy. Use a rented vehicle for business.
Can you go to prison for lack of insurance in Mississippi?
No, you cannot go to jail in Mississippi for driving without insurance, but you can face other significant repercussions, including license suspension and fines of up to $500. Driving without insurance in Mississippi is prohibited and can have a significant effect on future auto insurance premiums.
What will occur if I am partially to blame for the accident? – In a number of jurisdictions, including Mississippi, you can still submit a claim to seek compensation for your accident-related injuries and damages, even if you are partially at fault. Typically, states will adhere to one of these.
Pure comparative negligence: Mississippi adopts a pure comparative negligence approach. This means that you can claim damages even if you are 99 percent responsible for the accident and the other motorist is one percent responsible. Modified comparative negligence: In certain places, you cannot claim damages if you are more than 50 percent responsible for the accident.
Contributory negligence: In a few places, you can claim damages even if you were somewhat at fault for the accident.