States Without Regulations – As of the year 2013, there are seven states and the District of Columbia that do not mandate certified, licensed, or registered status for pharmacy technicians. The states of New York, Pennsylvania, Michigan, Wisconsin, Georgia, Colorado, and Hawaii are the only ones that do not have requirements for pharmacy technicians.
Do Pharmacy Technicians have to be certified in Arizona?
Are Pharmacy Technicians subject to regulation by the state of Arizona? They certainly do. Is obtaining certification necessary in order to work as a pharmacy technician in the state of Arizona? No, pharmacy tech trainees are not required to get certification from the PTCB by the Arizona State Board of Pharmacy; however, certification from the PTCB is required for pharmacy technicians.
What kind of certification test is recognized in the state of Arizona? PTCB is the credential that has been deemed acceptable by the Arizona State Board of Pharmacy (PTCE) Is a license necessary to work as a pharmacy technician? Before being permitted to operate in a pharmacy in Arizona, the State Board of Pharmacy requires pharmacy technicians to first get a license in order to practice.
This prerequisite for obtaining a license is specific to the state of Arizona. Arizona Pharmacy Technician Licensure Requirements You are need to be a citizen of the United States or to be a resident of the country legally. You must have completed the requirements for a high school diploma or its equivalent.
The Arizona State Board of Pharmacy requires a written application to be filed in order to process a request for registration as a Pharmacy Technician. It is required that you disclose on the application form if you have been charged with a misdemeanor or a felony. If you are applying to become a Pharmacist Technician trainee, you need to provide the $46 biannual registration fee.
Visit azpharmacy.gov in order to verify the amount for Pharmacy Technicians, as the fees are calculated on a pro-rated basis based on the month in which the application is submitted. Does the state of Arizona mandate that technicians get any sort of training? Yes, the State Board of Pharmacy in Arizona mandates that all pharmacy technicians who work in the state complete training.
This training is overseen by the pharmacist in charge of the pharmacy, who also maintains a record of all successful trainees. Is Pharmacy Technicians expected to participate in Continuing Education (CE) programs? The Arizona State Board of Pharmacy does, in fact, mandate that Pharmacy Technicians take a 24-hour continuing education course, of which two hours must be specifically dedicated to the study of pharmacy law.
How frequently are licenses necessary to be renewed? It is recommended that the license for Pharmacy Technician be updated every two years.
Do you need a license to be a pharmacy tech in Hawaii?
Certification is not a precondition for receiving a license to practice pharmacy in Hawaii, as required by the State Board of Pharmacy. Having a national certification from the PTCB or ExCPT, on the other hand, will boost your chances of getting a job.